Directors' Cuts: Performance Highlights from 2006 and 2007


David Štech and Andrew Paul Fredel shared artistic direction of CCA for several years (David, 2004-2009, Andrew, 2004-2010), delighting singers and audiences alike with their choice of repertoire and gift for musical interpretation. The selections on this CD were chosen by David and Andrew for their beauty, their timelessness, and their universal appeal. We hope you, too, will enjoy this truly beautiful music. 


$15 compact disc. Price includes shipping.


Track Listing
1.     Claudio Monteverdi: Beatus vir
2.     Henry Purcell: Hear My Prayer
3.     J.S. Bach: Cantata 4, Es war ein wunderlicher Krieg
4.     J.S. Bach: Cantata 4, Chorale
5.     Johannes Brahms: Im Herbst from J. Brahms: Liebeslieder Walzer (#6-9)
6.     O die Frauen/Wie des schönes Abends Röte
7.     Wenn so lind dein Auge mir
8.     Nachtigall
9.     Es bebet das Gesträuche
10.   Benjamin Britten: The Evening Primrose
11.   Daniel Pinkham: Nunc dimittis
12.   U2, King’s Singers, arr.: MLK
13.   James Erb, arr.: Shenandoah
14.   Astor Piazzolla: Primavera Porteña
15.   Francis Poulenc: Litanies à la Vierge noire
16.   Pierre Villette: O salutaris hostia
17.   Maurice Duruflé: Messe cum jubilo - Agnus dei
18.   M. Duruflé: Ubi caritas
19.   Jean Langlais: Messe Solennelle, Kyrie
20.   J. Langlais: Messe Solennelle, Sanctus
21.   J. Langlais: Messe Solennelle, Benedictus




Peace & Reconciliation: Music of War, Grief, and Peace


When they first met to plan the Peace & Reconciliation concert, CCA's Artistic Directors, David Štech and Andrew Paul Fredel, sought music which explored the emotions arising from war and peace: grief and anguish at war's devastation; pride and defiance toward one's enemies; and the serenity and joy of peace and reconciliation. Ultimately, the pieces which they chose witnessed to the unconquerable strength of the human spirit and the indomitable power of hope.


One of CCA's most heart-wrenching, powerful, and extraordinarily beautiful concerts, this CD is captivating for both text and music.


$15 compact disc. Price includes shipping.


Track Listing
1. Howl Ye
2. Wie Liegt Die Stadt
3. Coventry Anticipation
4. The Paper Reeds by the Brooks
5. O Pray for the Peace of Jerusalem
6. The Soldier 7. Reconciliation
8. The Noise of a Multitude
9. Field of the Dead
10. The Mother
11. Trois Beaux Oiseaux
12. My Soul There is a Country
13. Elegy
14. Peace, I Leave With You
15. Concord
16. Have Ye Not Known
17. But These are They
18. Ye Shall Have a Song
19. Dona Nobis Pacem




Tidings of Comfort and Joy


Conducted by Bart Bradfield, Tidings of Comfort and Joy was chosen as one of the best holiday recordings for 1998 by John von Rhein, classical music critic for the Chicago Tribune. According to Lawrence Johnson's glowing review in Fanfare Magazine, "Among the multitude of Christmas discs that one is annually inundated with, this beautifully sung choral program of traditional English carols is a small gem. Recorded at live concerts, the refined, scrupulously blended singing of the Chicago Choral Artists under the sensitive direction of Bart Bradfield is guaranteed to banish the winter chill."


$15 compact disc. Price includes shipping.



Track Listing
1. The Truth from Above
2. I Sing of a Maiden
3. Sussex Carol
4. Lullaby, My Sweet Little Baby
5. Morning Star
6. Lute-Book Lullaby
7. There is No Rose
8. Jesus Christ the Apple Tree
9. Ding Dong! Merrily On High
10. In the Bleak Mid-Winter
11. Wassail Song
12. Wexford Carol
13. Coventry Carol
14. I Saw Three Ships
15. No Sad Thought His Soul Affright
16. We've Been Awhile a-Wandering
17. The Three Kings
18. Make We Joy Now in this Fest
19. Here is the Little Door
20. Alleluia, A New Work is Come on Hand